Published On: Wed, Nov 30th, 2016

Davis Cup 2016: Argentina beat Croatia to the title

Davis Cup 2016Current Affairs: Argentina on 27 November 2016 won its maiden Davis Cup title after defeating Croatia in the final. In the final match, Argentina’s Federico Delbonis defeated Ivo Karlovic 6-3, 6-4, 6-2 to give Argentina its first title.
As of 2016, the Argentina Davis Cup team has competed in the World Group since 2002 and reached the finals five times (1981, 2006, 2008, 2011 and 2016). At present, Argentina is Number 1 on the Davis Cup ranking by the International Tennis Federation (ITF).
About Davis Cup
  • The Davis Cup is the premier international team event in men’s tennis.
  • It is governed by the International Tennis Federation.
  • It is contested annually between teams from competing countries in a knock-out format.
  • It is described also described as the “World Cup of Tennis.”
  • The winners of the competition are referred to as the World Champion team.
  • The tournament was conceived in 1899 by four members of the Harvard University tennis team.
  • The competition first began in 1900 as a challenge between Great Britain and the United States.
  • By 2016, 135 nations entered teams into the competition.
  • The most successful countries over the history of the tournament are the United States, which won 32 tournaments, and Australia, which won 28 times.
  • India was the runner-up of the tournament in 1966, 1974 and 1987.
  • The women’s equivalent of the Davis Cup is the Fed Cup.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>